I know this dish name will raise many eyebrows. I too have one childhood memory. I don’t remember the exact age but when I was young, my mom asked me whether I will eat snake gourd dish and I gave her expression “ who eats that?”. Still she made me eat it and I absolutely didn’t like it. And my mom’s reaction toward my papa “See, I told you, children wont like it, even I don’t like it.” When I told this incident to my husband, he said “ Lucky you that you just had to eat that once in your life. My mom made me eat that so many times.” That time he had no idea that his wife too, was going to make him eat that. Yeah but this time it’s totally different. We both liked snake gourd this time. I got this recipe from my aunt, and I knew that we will like it because it has shrimps stuffing. By shrimp I mean dried shrimps here(Jawla).

Ingredients:

  • 4 pieces of snake gourd
  • 1 cup of dried shrimps (Soak it in warm water for 15 minutes)
  • 2 tablespoons of chick peas flour
  • ½ cup finely chopped coriander
  • 2 green chilies, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon red chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon garam masala
  • Salt as per taste

 Procedure:

  • Clean the insides of the pieces of snake gourd and apply salt in it. Keep aside. It will release water. Discard the water.
  • In a bowl, add coriander, chopped green chilies, all the spices, salt, dried shrimps and flour. Mix well.

  • Now stuff this mixture in snake gourd.
  • Shallow fry on all the sides till it turns golden brown.
  • Serve hot as an appetizer.
