Rice Semolina Pancake (रवळी)

I never liked this healthy dessert during my childhood when my grandma used to prepare it for us. But now far from home, when nobody is forcing me to eat those dishes I disliked, I am really not sure if I am reminded of my people forcing me to eat those dishes or those dishes that were forced on me by my people. I guess, I am missing them both, those dishes and my people.

This is a very simple dessert that can also be had as a snack. We call it “Ravali” at our native because it has semolina and granulated rice which we call “Rava” and it is made on pan which we call “Tawa”. So it becomes Ravali.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup granulated rice
  • ½ cup semolina
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 cup jaggery
  • 1 tablespoon cardamom
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 1 cup water
  • Clarified butter ( 4 tablespoons approx.)
  • Handful of dried fruits (Almond, pistachio, cashew nuts)

Procedure:

  • First sauté granulated rice and semolina on clarified butter (ghee) till they release aroma. Keep aside.
  • Now in pan, add coconut milk, water, jaggery, a tablespoon of clarified butter and sugar. Keep stove on medium heat and keep swirling mixture with the help of spatula till the jaggery melts.
  • Now add granulated rice and semolina, cardmom, dried fruits and mix it well. Put a lid on the pan and let it cook on medium heat for eight to ten minutes.
  • Turn off the stove and let it cool. Then refrigerate for one and a half hour minimum so it sets.
  • Have it as a snack with a glass of milk or as a dessert.

8 thoughts on “Rice Semolina Pancake (रवळी)

Leave a comment